top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureshadygroveliterary

dec, 2020 third place winner: the replicant by anne mcgee

Startled by the slide of the cell door, Ben snapped the e-reader closed on his failed request for appeal. The Replicant entered. Ben scrambled backward on his bunk. It was Jamie Sutherland to the life. It offered its hand. Ben hesitated, stood, and grasped the hand. Jesus, its skin was as warm as any man's. "You know what happened?" "Judgement says you shot me in the head." The inmate rumor mill had been wrong then--replicants did not retain their human memories. Ben would have to convince Jamie Sutherland's copy of his innocence or accept the penalty: death by revenge. "I'm innocent." Ben wasted no time. The Replicant shrugged. "I'm guessing everyone says that." "I can prove it." "Your high-priced lawyer couldn't. You think you can?" "They held back evidence." "I guess you think I'm stupid because I'm a replicant? You’re stalling." Jamie's copy drew a Glock 19. "You're right." Ben held up his hands. "I can't prove it. But did they show you Jamie's Facebook page? All his charity work? He was a good man. You would kill me and cancel that legacy?" The Replicant hesitated. "This technology--." He gestured to himself. "It isn't what they think it is. I'm not Jamie Sutherland. Not a good man. Not a man at all." Ben recalled his father’s saying--a man is only as good as his handshake. “You shook my hand?” "Nothing more than common decency." But a light seemed to go on in the replicant’s eyes. It lowered the gun. Ben chucked a laugh. "Yeah, from one hopeless man to another."



61 views0 comments
bottom of page