top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureshadygroveliterary

HONORABLE MENTION FOR JUNE, 2019: THE STEEPLE BY HATTIE COOKE

My father was calling at twenty to ten.​ I knew something was wrong.​ He'd usually be in bed by now, and besides, he rarely called.​ "Sweetheart, have you seen the news?" he said.​ I could hear a lump, lodged in his throat.​ "What news?" I asked coolly, trying to remain composed.​ Who had died?​ What catastrophe had unfolded when I wasn't looking?​ "Notre Dame..." he choked "...it's nearly all gone."​ I could have sworn he'd been crying.​ "Oh yeah, I saw. It's...terrible."​ And it was terrible, watching the steeple collapse - ​ It was -​ But what could I do about it?​ "I...I remember you saying...you wanted to go to Paris."​ "Yeah I did."​ That was months ago. ​ We both fell silent, perhaps if I tried to sound a little sadder...​ "Were you asleep?" he asked.​ "No. I was just...I had my tooth taken out today."​ "Oh, you're a little spaced from the drugs" he excused away my indifference.​ "Yeah, sorry" I said.​ But I knew the drugs had worn off hours ago.​ "Well I'll let you go then."​ The words waivered - he needed me, and I didn't know what to say about any of it.​ "Ok Dad. Lots of love."​ He hung up the phone.​ In the silence of the room 'it's nearly all gone' rang out.​ It rang like a church bell for the rest of the night as I thought about the steeple.​ ​


61 views0 comments
bottom of page