top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureshadygroveliterary

Sept, 2021 - honorable mention: You've Got a Little Something by Wendy Grube





Sarah smiles. Jake finishes the last sip of wine in his glass and leans in for a kiss. He stops short and motions to her mouth. “You’ve got a little something.” Sarah snags her napkin from her lap and covers her mouth, frantically drawing her tongue across her teeth. She flashes him a smile. He shakes his head. “Excuse me,” she pushes her chair away from the table and hurries out of the room. Sarah peers into the bathroom mirror and wipes at some spinach caught in her teeth. “Idiot!” she whispers, “Florentine is not third date acceptable.” The faint creak of bedsprings behind her, she turns and tiptoes into the bedroom. A sheer curtain billows over the open window. Moonlight cascades over the turned down bed, the quilt, once neat, now disheveled. “Felix?” Sarah smooths the quilt and plumps the flattened pillow. “A turned down bed is not an open invitation for you to sleep with me.” She looks around the empty room. “You have to stop assuming that I’m not going to throw you out of my bed.” She chuckles, “But, I do love the way you nibble on my ear in the morning.” She closes the open window and heads back to her date. Jake stands at the front door putting on his coat. “I really should be going.” A small, black cat pads across the floor and rubs against Sarah’s ankle. “Felix!” Sarah scoops him up. Jake grins, “This is Felix?” She nods. “My neighbor’s, but somehow he always ends up here.” Jake laughs and eases out of his coat, “Maybe I’ll stay a bit longer.” He smiles. She puts down the cat and leans in for a kiss, then pauses and motions to his mouth. “You’ve got a little something.” He grins

102 views0 comments
bottom of page